Our Advisory Committee

The Caribbean Council’s Advisory Committee was established to bring together individuals with commercial and other interests in the Caribbean Basin to provide general advice to the company, its Board and its Management.

The Committee has four general objectives:

  • To help broaden the network of contacts that might support the Caribbean Council’s further development;
  • To provide advice on specific political, economic and commercial issues of relevance to the business as may be identified by the Board of the company from time to time;
  • To consider and make recommendations on general trends in the Caribbean, Europe and elsewhere that might affect the business; and
  • To enhance its members awareness of Caribbean related issues of relevance to their interests.

Recent themes discussed at Advisory Committee meetings include the development of China’s involvement in the Caribbean, the changing potential of the Caribbean and the change in economic opportunity in Cuba. Briefing papers on these subjects can be found in the ‘Reports’ section of the website.

Advisory Committee Members 2014-2017

President: The Rt. Hon. Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Ambassador Dr Richard Bernal, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Global Affairs, University of the West Indies

Chris Boughton, Managing Director, Nectar Group Ltd

Martyn Bould, Chairman, Bould Consulting (Cayman Islands)

David Duncan, Senior External Relations Manager, British American Tobacco

Adam Cleave, Senior Corporate Affairs Strategy Manager, Imperial Tobacco Group Ltd

Barry Cole, Director, Portman Investment and Development Ltd

Fernando Dominguez, Premium Cigar Director, Imperial Tobacco/ ALTADIS

Gema Hidalgo Castano, Imperial Tobacco (Tabacalera)

Ruth Euling, Sales Director, De La Rue plc.

Sarah Read, Manager, Government and Consumer Affairs, Virgin Atlantic Airways Ltd

Nathan Stower, VP External Affairs and Sustainability, Virgin Atlantic Airways Ltd

Patrick Reilly, Head of Department, Caribbean, Central America and Mexico Department, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Kara Owen, Director, Americas, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Katja Afheldt, Head of Division, EEAS Americas 2, Central America, Mexico and Caribbean

Fernando Ponz, Deputy Head of Division, EEAS Americas 2, Central America, Mexico and Caribbean

Cameron Graham, President, Dart Development. (Cayman Islands)

Chris Duggan, VP Community Development, DART Enterprise (Cayman Islands)

The Baroness Hooper CMG, President, Central American Business Council

The Rt. Hon. Lord John Hutton, Chairman, Cuba Initiative

Earl Jarrett, General Manager, Jamaica National Building Society (Jamaica)

Ian Livingstone, Chairman, London and Regional Properties

Peter Odle, Owner, Mango Bay Barbados Inc. (Barbados)

Laurent Pillet, Managing Director, Pernod Ricard UK

Yesu Persaud, Executive Chairman, Demerara Distillers Ltd. & Chairman, Demerara Bank Ltd (Guyana)

Gerrie Ubink, Managing Director, Vertraco Shipping B.V (Netherlands)

Felipe Vicini, President, Inicia (Dominican Republic)

The Rt. Hon. Brian Wilson, Chairman, Havana Energy

Sally Yearwood, Executive Director, Caribbean Central American Action (Washington DC)

Dr Frank Ward, Chairman, West Indies Rum & Spirit Producers’ Association Inc.

Peter Phipps, Caribbean Regional Representative for Transportation, Mott MacDonald

Paulette Simpson, Senior Manager for Corporate Affairs and Public Policy, JNBS

Frank Comito, CEO, Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association

The Rt Hon Lord Foulkes of Cumnock, Honorary Past President, The Caribbean Council

Simon Blake, Partner, Strategic Corporate Finance, Price Bailey LLP

Ex Officio Members

Chris Bennett, Managing Director, The Caribbean Council

John Bowers, Owner, Bowers Consulting & Chairman of the Caribbean Council

David Jessop, Consultant, The Caribbean Council

David Suratgar, Chairman, BMCE Bank International plc. & Non-Executive Director of the Caribbean Council

Daniel Gray, Associate Director, The Caribbean Council

Emily Soar, Marketing and Events Coordinator, The Caribbean Council