Advisory Committee

The Caribbean Council’s Advisory Committee was established to bring together individuals with commercial and other interests in the Caribbean Basin to provide general advice to the company, its Board and its Management.

The Committee has four general objectives:

  • To help broaden the network of contacts that might support the Caribbean Council’s further development;
  • To provide advice on specific political, economic and commercial issues of relevance to the business as may be identified by the Board of the company from time to time;
  • To consider and make recommendations on general trends in the Caribbean, Europe and elsewhere that might affect the business; and
  • To enhance its members awareness of Caribbean related issues of relevance to their interests.

Recent themes discussed at Advisory Committee meetings include the development of China’s involvement in the Caribbean, the changing potential of the Caribbean and the change in economic opportunity in Cuba. Briefing papers on these subjects can be found in the ‘Reports’ section of the website.


Advisory Committee Members 2014-2016

President: The Rt. Hon. Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Ambassador Dr Richard Bernal, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Global Affairs, University of the West Indies

Chris Boughton, Managing Director, Nectar Group Ltd

Martyn Bould, Caribbean Chairman, Rider Levett Bucknall Ltd. (Cayman Islands)

Scott Brodie, Senior External Relations Manager, British American Tobacco

Adam Cleave, Senior Corporate Affairs Strategy Manager, Imperial Tobacco Group Ltd

Barry Cole, Director, Portman Investment and Development Ltd

Tim Corrigan, Managing Director, Caribbean and the Middle East, Kier Construction Ltd

Ruth Euling, Sales Director, De La Rue plc.

Sian Foster, General Manager, Government & External Affairs, Virgin Atlantic Airways Ltd

Alan Gogbashian, Head of Department, Caribbean, Central America, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Cameron Graham, President, Dart Development. (Cayman Islands)

The Baroness Hooper CMG, President, Central American Business Council

The Rt. Hon. Lord John Hutton, Chairman, Cuba Initiative

Earl Jarrett, General Manager, Jamaica National Building Society (Jamaica)

David Lenigas, Chairman, Lenigas Cuba Ltd

Ian Livingstone, Chairman, London and Regional Properties

John McKenna, Exploration & Business Unit Manager, Tullow Oil plc.

Peter Odle, Owner, Mango Bay Barbados Inc. (Barbados)

Denis O’Flynn, Managing Director, Pernod Ricard UK

Yesu Persaud, Executive Chairman, Demerara Distillers Ltd. & Chairman, Demerara Bank Ltd (Guyana)

Kate Smith, Director for the Americas, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Ger Ubink, Managing Director, Vertraco Shipping B.V (Netherlands)

Felipe Vicini, President, Grupo Vicini (Dominican Republic)

The Rt. Hon. Brian Wilson, Chairman, Havana Energy

Sally Yearwood, Executive Director, Caribbean Central American Action (Washington DC)


Ex Officio Members

Chris Bennett, Managing Director, The Caribbean Council

John Bowers, Owner, Bowers Consulting & Chairman of the Caribbean Council

Catherine Hickey, Associate Director, The Caribbean Council

David Jessop, Consultant, The Caribbean Council

David Suratgar, Chairman, BMCE Bank International plc. & Non-Executive Director of the Caribbean Council

Stephanie Whittle, Non-Executive Director, The Caribbean Council

Caribbean Council Twitter
Follow us on Twitter

#Stakeholders discuss way forward for #regional #sugar #industry #caribbeannews
- Tuesday Mar 28 - 9:01am

For up to date news and events please click here

Click here to enquire about Membership Events, Consultancy Service, View from Europe Reports, Business of Tourism or General Enquiries.

Contact us for more information

Click here to join the mailing lists for:

Free EventsView from EuropeBusiness of TourismClick here if you would prefer not to be added to our mailing lists

Order Tickets

Contact Us
The Caribbean Council

Temple Chambers, 3-7 Temple Avenue,
London EC4Y 0HP
Telephone +44 (0) 20 7583 8739
Fax +44 (0) 20 7583 9652